eternitainment

In the 2001 film, A Beautiful Mind, mathematician John Nash struggles with
schizophrenia forcing him to re-evaluate his beliefs and how he actually comes
to know anything. Some observations:

Nash holds to reductionism to justify urges:

Nash: I don’t exactly know what I am required to say in order for you to have intercourse with me. But could we assume that I said all that. I mean essentially we are talking about fluid exchange right? So could we go just straight to the sex.

Beliefs are based on evidence:

Alicia: How big is the universe?
Nash: Infinite.
Alicia: How do you know?
Nash: I know because all the data indicates it’s infinite.
Alicia: But it hasn’t been proven yet.
Nash: No.
Alicia: You haven’t seen it.
Nash: No.
Alicia: How do you know for sure?
Nash: I don’t, I just believe it.
Alicia: It’s the same with love I…

View original post 204 more words

Leave a Reply

