John and Lisa's Blue Skies Blog - Soaring with God

“I relax and cast aside all mental burdens, allowing God to express through me His perfect love, peace and wisdom.”  (Paramahansa Yogananda)

About two months ago, I came across the above affirmation in my spiritual reading.  I liked it so much, I wrote it on a narrow piece of paper to use as a bookmark in my prayer book.

This affirmation speaks to me because most of my burdens are mental:  judgements, anxiety, negative thoughts, depression.  On the one hand, it often seems to me that I want to do and to be so many things; yet on the other hand, all I really want is to be an instrument of God’s love, peace and wisdom.

Last week, I had a phone conversation for spiritual counseling with one of the nuns of Self-Realization Fellowship in California.  This was the first time I’d ever spoken with her.  She answered some…

View original post 133 more words

Leave a Reply

