Dispatch

Remington Typewriter

I came across this great list of advice by successful writers on one of the many social media sites I use. I can’t remember which one exactly. But, I think it’s great enough to pass on.

Click here for a list of 105 quotes on writing and life. 

There are a few that are near and dear to my heart.

Mark Twain: Substitute “damn” every time you want to use the word “very.” Twain’s thought was that your editor would delete the “damn,” and leave the writing as it should be. The short version: eliminate using the word “very.”

I remember using the word “very” a lot in journalism school and my professors always crossed it out.

EB White: Just write. The author of Charlotte’s Web, one of the most beloved of children’s books, said that “I admire anybody who has the guts to write anything at all.”

This is absolutely…

View original post 165 more words

Leave a Reply

